Border Panels in the Window to the Copper Country
Keweenaw Mountain Lodge
One of the most outstanding resorts in the Upper Peninsula, the Keweenaw
Mountain Lodge and golf course was built in the early 1930's under the Civil
Works Administration. It is made of solid pine and spruce logs and nestled on a
high plateau overlooking Lake Superior on U.S. 41. Twelve log cottages were
built later. A proposed plan to winterize the lodge for year round recreational
use by tourists and local residents is being considered.
Throughout the Keweenaw there is a wide variety of natural sites, and
waterfalls are the most abundant. In the springtime the drone of roaring water
can be loud enough to drown out a voice completely. Local favorites include the
Douglass Houghton Falls, Hungarian Falls and Jacobs Falls. Local specimens of
datolite are imbedded into this panel.
Trillium and Thimbleberry
A member of the lily family, Trillium is a three petalled white flower which
appears early in the Spring. It is a delight to see in its natural setting;
appreciate it there for it is on the endangered species list.
Thimbleberry plants have maple-like leaves and grow to tall bush size in sunny
areas. Blossoming in the Spring, the white flowers later turn into large red
fruit resembling a thimble. Related to the raspberry, thimbleberries make
This is one of the first municipal theatres in America. Opening in 1900 it
contained a magnificent stage and elegant interior decorations including an
electrified copper chandelier. Many prominent stage personalities, American and
European, performed here. Today the theatre is refurbished and is the site of
local theatre productions and visiting performers. The slice of brick imbedded
in this panel is from the Italian Hall.
This Indian symbol of a mythical bird was believed to cause lightning and
thunder. The Upper Peninsula was inhabited by Chippewa, Ojibway and Ottawa
bands of Indians for more than 4,000 years. Descendants of these tribes inhabit
the peninsula today.
Copper Harbor Lighthouse
Built in 1866 the Copper Harbor Lighthouse marked a port of major shipping
activity. Water transportation was the earliest means to move people, supplies
and equipment into the Lake Superior region. Manually operated until 1932, the
lighthouse was automated then and continues today as a beacon for vessels
traveling on the southern shore of Lake Superior.
This is the last stand of privately owned virgin white pine in Michigan. The
stand is named after Edward A.J. Estivant, pioneer owner, who purchased the
site in the 1870's. Today the pines reach 130 feet to 150 feet toward the sky
and can take as many as three individuals to reach around one trunk.
Miner's Candle, Hat and Pick
In addition to the rich history above the ground the Copper Country has vast
resources underground. The candle, hat and pick were necessary and basic tools
used by the miners to extract mineral deposits. Most of the copper mines are
inactive today, but underground tours of several mines are available. A quartz
crystal donated by the A.E. Seaman Mineralogical Museum symbolizes the light of
a candle used on early mining hats.
Return to Window to the Copper Country