Planning Your Visit
The Michigan Technological University Archives and Copper Country Historical
Collection, established in 1969, seeks to preserve and make available for
research, manuscript and printed materials relating to the people and
institutions of the Copper Country of Michigan.
LOCATION AND HOURS
The Archives is located on the lower level of the Michigan Tech
Library, in the heart of the Michigan Technological University campus in
Houghton, Michigan. For current hours of operarion, a campus map, and
directions to the Michigan Tech Archives, please click
The Archives is a closed-stack library open to all researchers who may
profit from the use of its holdings. Each researcher must fill out a
registration form for every research project undertaken in order to establish
his identity and to assist reference service by defining his topic. By signing
the registration form, each researcher signifies that he has read these
guidelines and thereby agrees to abide by its policies. Each researcher must
sign the guest register every day.
The Archives is committed to making all materials available for use as soon as
possible. However, the Archives recognizes the right of donors to place
reasonable restrictions on the use of their materials to ensure individuals'
right to privacy. Unprocessed materials may also be withheld from use.
As a security measure, the Archives prohibits the use of briefcases, bookbags,
large handbags, books and notebooks at the research tables in the Reading Room.
Such items of personal luggage, excluding valuables, must be left in the area
designated by the Archives staff before a researcher may be seated. Only note
paper and pencil may be taken to tables in the Reading Room. The Archives
reserves the right to inspect briefcases, bookbags, large handbags, books and
notebooks taken from the department.
Researchers at the Archives are asked to follow these procedures to help
provide maximum service for researchers and physical protection for the
A. Reference Desk
Please complete a researcher registration form for each research project.
Please inform an Archives assistant of your research request.
B. Archives Reading Room
Sign the Guest Register each day.
Leave briefcases, notebooks, etc., in the designated area.
Archival materials may be used only in the Reading Room.
Take notes in pencil. Typewriters, laptop computers and recording devices are
Please be reminded of the unique and often fragile nature of archival material.
Make no marks on the materials. Please do not write notes on top of materials
or rest books or other objects on the face or surface of items used. Please
handle loose sheets or book pages by the edges. Tracing is not permitted.
It is extremely important to preserve the existing order and arrangement of
unbound material. Manuscript collections are generally arranged
chronologically. Report any disarrangement to the Archives assistant. Do not
rearrange items yourself.
Use only one box at a time. Remove only one folder at a time. Put folders and
items back in the same order and facing the same way as you received them.
When arranging for photo-duplication, please observe carefully the guidelines
outlined under "Duplication".
Material left temporarily on the tables should be replaced in its container and
all containers and volumes should be closed. Please notify the Archives
Please return materials to the Archives assistant when you have finished using
them. Researchers are responsible for records delivered to them until the
records have been returned to the Archives assistant. Materials will be held
The Archives reserves the right to inspect briefcases and books taken from the
Do not attempt to retrieve materials without assistance.
Smoking and the consumption of food and beverage are NOT permitted.
The Archives will arrange photocopies of printed material and prints of
photographic images at the researcher's expense. An Archives staff member will
be happy to discuss the types of duplication best suited to your needs and to
prepare orders. All copying services are performed by Archives staff members on
the premises or elsewhere at its specific direction. See the Michigan Tech Archives
schedule of fees for duplication costs. (current fee schedule is avaiable here)
A fee will be charged for photocopies of archival material. Mail requests will
include any applicable postage and handling costs. A researcher desiring
photocopies should speak to an Archives assistant. Copies will normally be made
the same day. In cases where materials would be damaged by copying, the
Archives may refuse to allow duplication.
Researchers requesting copies of photographic images will be required to
complete and sign a Photographic Agreement form, thereby agreeing to abide by
the policies of the Archives and any additional restrictions pertaining to
particular collections. Photograph images are made available for one time use
only and may not be copied, electronically scanned or otherwise stored without
the express permission of the Michigan Tech Archives and Copper Country Historical
Collections. A minimum of two weeks is required to process orders.
The researcher agrees that all reproductions are made solely for the purpose of
scholarly research. Copies may not be sold. No copies of copies may be made,
nor copies deposited with other institutions without the written permission of
the Michigan Tech Archives and Copper Country Historical Collections. Entire or extensive
portions of photographic or manuscript collections may not be copied without
special permission. The researcher assumes all legal responsibility for
observing laws of copyright and common law literary rights. Fragile items may
be withheld from copying, as will copies of material held by other
institutions. The Archives also retains the right to request the return of
copies when a researcher has finished using them.
PUBLICATION AND CITATION
Users of the Archives are warned that material here may be protected by
copyright or by common law literary rights. In case of manuscripts, the right
of first publication belongs to the author or his heirs regardless of the
physical ownership of the manuscript. The Archives has express written
conveyance of literary rights for only a few collections. For all other
collections securing permission to publish quotations from the collection is
the responsibility of the researcher. The user assumes all legal responsibility
for observing literary rights, common law rights and property rights. The
researcher is also warned that the use of libelous statements or the invasion
of personal privacy is actionable under law.
In citing manuscript materials, please use the full name of this repository,
Michigan Technological University Archives and Copper Country Historical
Collections. Citations should identify the individual item, information about
the series, box and/or folder (if applicable), and the name of the collection.
The following is an example of the preferred form:
Letter, Arthur H. Vandenberg to Grover C. Dillman, January 25, 1930, Grover C.
Dillman Collection, Michigan Technological University Archives and Copper
Country Historical Collections.
A credit line must also be given to photographs published from our holdings. The
credit line should read: "Michigan Technological University".
The Archives would be grateful for a copy or a bibliographic note of a
published work based on our holdings.
Michigan Tech Archives and Copper Country Historical Collections
J. R. Van Pelt and Opie Library
Michigan Technological University
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, Michigan 49931-1295